1

Took my volkswagen to this place for a check engine light. They convinced me they could repair it, so I let them do the work. The light came back on so I took it back so it could be rechecked. They claimed there was nothing wrong and that I need to take it to the dealer for a sofware update. The next day the light came on again with a new code, so I belive when they rechecked their work they caused another part to fail. After taking to the dealer, the dealer had to replace a different part than the one Litchfield Auto did. To sum it up Litchfield Auto didn't fix my car the dealer did. After I filed a complaint with the BBB, Phil's response was typical of a Auto repair shop. Take no resposibly for failed repairs and blame the customer when they complain.

5

Good honest people!

Thanks, Joseph, we pride ourselves on our complete transparency with our customers! We appreciate your review!

- Litchfield Auto Repair
5

Great service. Very thorough and polite.

Thank you very much for the positive review!

- Litchfield Auto Repair
1

WARNING!!!, DO NOT TAKE YOUR VOLKSWAGEN HERE!!!, for a check engine light. Save money and grief, by taking to dealer. After they worked on vehicle, the light came on again and after rechecking they told me I needed to take it to the dealer for a software update. They are more than happy to take your money instead of recommending you take to dealer. I wasted $500 of my hard earned dollars here. **Update for Phil**. The original code was P0456 which came on again after repair. After vehicle was rechecked, the next day P0442 code came on. Took to volkswagen and they retested and the EVAP cannister purge valve was bad, which was probably caused by you. Volkswagen fixed my car. Litchfield Auto didn't. I have filed a complaint with the BBB. Service: Check engine light diagnostic

Hello Michael, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. This is an unfortunate scenario. In your case there was a code for a Evap emissions system leak. We had found a TSB bulletin that said VW has and update calibration software update for this concern. When testing the system we had found a leak. Which will cause this code. At that time we had advised you of the failed component and let you know if the light comes on and has this code it would need to be re-flashed at VW. We never "claimed" we fixed it. We repaired a component that had a physical failure. Unfortunately there is no way for us to know that a software update will be required until the computer picks up on it. When we perform the test procedures that VW provides and have no faults, then we know it could be an ECM issue. In your case we had a failed (leaking) component. You have to replace the known bad part before you can condemn ECM or software. I assure you that you didn't "waste your hard earned dollars here." It's that your vehicle needed a part and an update. We do not update VW software as the equipment cost is too great and it would be cheaper for you to go to the dealer for that service. We would not want to refure you to the dealer until were sure it is necessary. This is why in this type of case we try our best to inform you the customer so that you can better understand the situation. Example: we could have just said you need both now at not given you the opportunity to try just the part first. Then your bill may have been double what you spent. And you may not have even needed the software update. That seems like throwing money at it. I dont think that seems fair. I know you will now be unconvinced having to take your car to the dealer, but in the long run it will have saved you some money and at least you know it actually needed both the part and the update. I really hope this explanation helps. I would very much like to earn your trust and your future business. Please contact me to further discus. Phil 623.882.8700 Thank you.

- Litchfield Auto Repair
5

Was on vacation in Phoenix from oregon. Coolant leak suddenly appeared, suspected water pump and did not want to drive back with the risk but did not think I could get car in before I had to go back. Mike got me in the next day and fixed it that’s same day. Even my mechanic in oregon could not have done it that fast. Was not cheep but peace of mind was worth every penny. Highly recommend them!!! Service: Engine repair

Thank you so much for the awesome review, LaMar! We are so glad we could fix your car up and provide you with good service! We appreciate you recommending us to others!

- Litchfield Auto Repair
1

WARNING!!!, DO NOT TAKE YOUR VOLKSWAGEN HERE!!!, for a check engine light. Save money and grief, by taking to dealer. After they worked on vehicle, the light came on again and after rechecking they told me I needed to take it to the dealer for a software update. They are more than happy to take your money instead of recommending you take to dealer. I wasted $500 of my hard earned dollars here. **Update for Phil**. The original code was P0456 which came on again after repair. After vehicle was rechecked, the next day P0442 code came on. Took to volkswagen and they retested and the EVAP cannister purge valve was bad, which was probably caused by you. Volkswagen fixed my car. Litchfield Auto didn't. I have filed a complaint with the BBB.

Hello Michael, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. This is an unfortunate scenario. In your case there was a code for a Evap emissions system leak. We had found a TSB bulletin that said VW has and update calibration software update for this concern. When testing the system we had found a leak. Which will cause this code. At that time we had advised you of the failed component and let you know if the light comes on and has this code it would need to be re-flashed at VW. We never "claimed" we fixed it. We repaired a component that had a physical failure. Unfortunately there is no way for us to know that a software update will be required until the computer picks up on it. When we perform the test procedures that VW provides and have no faults, then we know it could be an ECM issue. In your case we had a failed (leaking) component. You have to replace the known bad part before you can condemn ECM or software. I assure you that you didn't "waste your hard earned dollars here." It's that your vehicle needed a part and an update. We do not update VW software as the equipment cost is too great and it would be cheaper for you to go to the dealer for that service. We would not want to refure you to the dealer until were sure it is necessary. This is why in this type of case we try our best to inform you the customer so that you can better understand the situation. Example: we could have just said you need both now at not given you the opportunity to try just the part first. Then your bill may have been double what you spent. And you may not have even needed the software update. That seems like throwing money at it. I dont think that seems fair. I know you will now be unconvinced having to take your car to the dealer, but in the long run it will have saved you some money and at least you know it actually needed both the part and the update. I really hope this explanation helps. I would very much like to earn your trust and your future business. Please contact me to further discus. Phil 623.882.8700 Thank you.

- Litchfield Auto Repair
5

Was on vacation in Phoenix from oregon. Coolant leak suddenly appeared, suspected water pump and did not want to drive back with the risk but did not think I could get car in before I had to go back. Mike got me in the next day and fixed it that’s same day. Even my mechanic in oregon could not have done it that fast. Was not cheep but peace of mind was worth every penny. Highly recommend them!!!

Thank you so much for the awesome review, LaMar! We are so glad we could fix your car up and provide you with good service! We appreciate you recommending us to others!

- Litchfield Auto Repair
5

For a long time I didn't have a reliable mechanic until I found Litchfield Auto. Once I started coming here I noticed they realize they get more consistent business by being upfront about actual needs versus trying to get every dollar out of you. I thought my VW needed way more maintenance, it had been neglected because of COVID and they just said it needed an oil change! What a delight. Happy to keep coming back for all my auto needs.

5

Thanks for the perfect rating, Jose!

- Litchfield Auto Repair
5

Thank you for the five-star review, Richard!

- Litchfield Auto Repair
Litchfield Auto Repair is committed to ensuring effective communication and digital accessibility to all users. We are continually improving the user experience for everyone, and apply the relevant accessibility standards to achieve these goals. We welcome your feedback. Please call Litchfield Auto Repair (623) 882-8700 if you have any issues in accessing any area of our website.